Rated GOOD- Ofsted 2022 -
Home Page

Hazlemere Church of England Combined School & NurseryGROW IN WISDOM AND STATURE, AND IN FAVOUR WITH GOD AND PEOPLE

Welcome toHazlemere Church of EnglandCombined School & NurseryGROW IN WISDOM AND STATURE, AND IN FAVOUR WITH GOD AND PEOPLE


Key features of the SSP programme

Essential Letters and Sounds (ELS) is a complete SSP programme developed by specialist teachers at the Knowledge Schools Trust, one of the Department for Education’s English Hubs. The programme has been thoroughly piloted in schools and led to significantly increased phonics screening scores. It has at its heart the aim that all children learn to read well, quickly.


Key features:

• Whole-class high-quality teaching with well-structured daily lesson plans

• Consistent terminology used by teachers, children and parents

• Consistent resources that support the teaching of ELS

• Effective use of repetition throughout the programme

• Regular and manageable assessment to ensure that all children keep up rather than catch up • High-quality training to ensure that all staff are confident in teaching phonics



• Engaging resources to support effective classroom delivery: friezes, flashcards and activity books

• Wide range of carefully-matched decodable books published by Oxford University Press for children to apply their phonics learning and experience reading success

• Daily front-of-class lessons via the whiteboard to help provide consistency and pace

• Built-in keep up and review sequence to ensure all children make progress, especially the lowest-attaining 20%


Hazlemere Church of England Combined School

The teaching of early reading

As a school, we are committed to ensuring that every child leaves our school having achieved the expected skills in reading for an 11 year old. A secure ability in reading, alongside a passion for what reading can bring, is a fundamental entitlement for every child and will allow her or him to achieve well in all other areas of the curriculum throughout their schooling.

Our commitment starts from the moment that children join our school. In the Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception) we base the teaching of reading on the following strands:

  • Sharing high quality texts with children to encourage a love of reading and to secure the important skills such as knowing how to read and interpret pictures, looking for clues in text, finding and enjoying patterns and rhythms in language and beginning to talk about what has been read, finding key details and making simple predictions about what might happen.
  • Encouraging children to select and read books from a wide and exciting range. This can include supporting children with storytelling with word less books, encouraging children to retell stories that they cannot yet read by looking at picture clues to help with the structure of the story and using technology to help children read a book independently by hearing the words through an audio device.
  • In Nursery and Reception we use the DfE guidance ‘Letters and Sounds’ to shape the teaching of phonics. In Nursery children undertake the first phase of phonics in which they are encouraged to differentiate between sounds so that they can later learn the 44 letters sounds. In Reception, this early teaching is developed further and children learn ‘synthetic’ phonics – the 44 letter sounds which are split into seven groups.

Understanding synthetic phonics:

  • The sounds are taught in seven sets in a specific order – which is not alphabetical. This enables children to begin building words as early as possible.


The five key skills taught through our synthetic phonics programme includes the following:

  • Learning the letter sounds – children are taught the 42 main letter sounds. This includes the alphabet sounds as well as digraphs such as sh, th, ai and ue.
  • Learning letter formation – using different multi-sensory methods, children learn how to form and write the letters.
  • Blending – Children are taught how to blend the sounds together to read and write new words.
  • Segmenting – this involves children identifying sounds in words so that they have the best possible start for improving their spelling.
  • Helping children with tricky words – English contains a large number of regularly used words that don’t follow a phonetic patters. This words are learnt separately, alongside children’s acquisition of phonic skills.

Useful resources:

Videos to help teach and learn phonics

For videos and resources please use the following link


A pronunciation guide for the phonemes can also be found using the following link:


A guide for helping parents understand why the pure pronunciation of phonics sounds is so important can also be found at: